I am positive

I am positive. I remember the famous “I am not in the departure lounge” adverts, the “Imagine me, a grown man, weighing seventeen kilograms”. Did they change my perspective? Yes, I now believed that SOME people can live long lives with AIDS, they can lead normal lives without fear. Never did I think I would be one of the people looking to be in the subset SOME.

I am positive. I got my results after I developed malarial symptoms and yet tested negative for the same. With the advice of friends, I got tested for HIV just in case. Never did I think I had it, never did I ever feel like I would have it , never never never.

I am positive. What of my children? Are they sick too? Will I live to see them grow? Will they live? I asked myself questions I could not answer, questions that only made it worse but I could not help it. The million dollar question; Am I going to die?

I am positive. No counselling could cut it for me…… I was going to die.

Now I know though that with a little faith, love and good food, life is still very much alive. The fire is still alight. I want some one to know that there is life after this condition……
I am HIV positive and I harbour life’s positivity. I am positive that I will see my kids grow and see another chapter of my life.
I am that woman, that strong woman who will not let anything get in my way

Leave a comment